Please enable / Bitte aktiviere JavaScript!
Veuillez activer / Por favor activa el Javascript!
LinxTablet.co.uk - running quake and doom is it doable : General (Linx Vision)

running quake and doom is it doable

The game-changer that is the Linx Vision is coming soon, talk about the beast here!

running quake and doom is it doable

by kash2001 » April 29th, 2018, 9:50 pm

Hi everyone, looks a great forum and already learnt alot that will help my son enjoy his tablet more.

I've tried putting quake and the old shareware doom on the sd card and hard disk but it either closes or didn't run.

Is there a way to get these games running on this device without going through xbox or steam streaming...

Just want to play the old classics with him. I've got the mouse controller from steam, bought it from their website.

Any advice on this would be great.

Many thanks
Member
Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: April 29th, 2018, 9:23 pm
Linx Tablet: Linx Vision
Retailer: eBay
Windows Version: Windows 8.1

ADVERTISEMENT
Remove Ad

Re: running quake and doom is it doable

by kash2001 » May 2nd, 2018, 10:29 pm

Has anyone managed this or isnt there a version that uses the hardware, Im trying out xmapper soon with him, Ive managed to get quake2 up to the loading screen but the mouse app from steam doesnt interact, which is a shame, dont know why, but maybe xmapper may come into its own.

Anyone had this running?

ATB
Member
Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: April 29th, 2018, 9:23 pm
Linx Tablet: Linx Vision
Retailer: eBay
Windows Version: Windows 8.1

Re: running quake and doom is it doable

by fredohenriquez » June 1st, 2018, 12:41 pm

Hello!

I would recommend you trying to get these old games thru Steam Client or thru GoG. They are sold cheap and always patched to run into newer systems.
Member
Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2nd, 2018, 8:34 pm
Linx Tablet: Linx 8
Retailer: Ebay
Windows Version: Windows 10 Home

Re: running quake and doom is it doable

by XOSIMONOX » June 8th, 2018, 6:56 am

Hi, I’m new to the forums but this topic caught my attention...

Just a couple of days ago I installed GZDoom, insert your WADs and hey presto, Doom 1,2 & Final Doom, Hexen & Heretic with full cotnroller support...Had a couple of crashes but who cares? I’m playin ID classics on my Linx Vision. (Controller config is very easy in the GZDoom engine)

As for Quake I run it through the Steam app, downloaded NOT streamed, and use Bluetooth keyboard and mouse, although you can use the controller but it’s a bit iffy to calibrate. There’s a window issue when the game opens so I have to rotate to Portrait then back to landscape to sort the screen out, but works fine after that.

Hope this helps
Member
Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: April 19th, 2018, 9:07 pm
Linx Tablet: Linx Vision
Retailer: Tesco
Windows Version: Windows 10 Home

Re: running quake and doom is it doable

by ratmandom » June 28th, 2018, 4:55 pm

Ok I run quake, and I could use the GZ Doom engine easy with the controller cradle.

Quake download the xpadder app this will map out you controller like a keyboard. E.G. so you press the A button it thinks you pressed space on the keyboard and jump, this can be used with a lot of older games that needs a keyboard (you can pay for it cheap life time license).

So quake! download the dark places engine patch this is a must have !
http://icculus.org/twilight/darkplaces/download.html

Download this for the quake maps and mods, it will boot up quake with the map as long as you set it up properly. you will be playing quake for a long - long time!
https://www.quaddicted.com/tools/quake_injector

here is the link to the website of the maps
https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/

you will need this as well for the quaddicted "quake injector"
to load the java file
https://java.com/en/download/

here are some videos
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-NGjpa8iYM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4wFeYmPqaQ

;)
Rat Man Dominic(rats are the best pet)
Linx Newbie
Linx Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: June 14th, 2017, 12:51 pm
Linx Tablet: Linx Vision
Retailer: Amazon
Windows Version: Windows 10 Home

Re: running quake and doom is it doable

by XOSIMONOX » July 2nd, 2018, 3:29 pm

XOSIMONOX wrote:Hi, I’m new to the forums but this topic caught my attention...

Just a couple of days ago I installed GZDoom, insert your WADs and hey presto, Doom 1,2 & Final Doom, Hexen & Heretic with full cotnroller support...Had a couple of crashes but who cares? I’m playin ID classics on my Linx Vision. (Controller config is very easy in the GZDoom engine)

As for Quake I run it through the Steam app, downloaded NOT streamed, and use Bluetooth keyboard and mouse, although you can use the controller but it’s a bit iffy to calibrate. There’s a window issue when the game opens so I have to rotate to Portrait then back to landscape to sort the screen out, but works fine after that.

Hope this helps



UPDATE!!! Downloaded the Darkplaces engine, it runs Quake perfectly...fully customisable controls so you can set the controller up how ever you want...IT’S A BEAUTIFUL EXPERIENCE

Going to try out KMQuake2, so I’ll update later
Member
Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: April 19th, 2018, 9:07 pm
Linx Tablet: Linx Vision
Retailer: Tesco
Windows Version: Windows 10 Home


Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
Remove Ad