Network

General chit-chat on the Linx 10

Network

by david_1152 » January 22nd, 2015, 3:44 pm

Hi,

Has anyone tried to get their Linx 10 onto a network at all?

Thanks.

Linx Tablet: Linx 10

ADVERTISEMENT
Remove Ad

Re: Network

by Madmax » January 22nd, 2015, 3:57 pm

wired:no
wireless:yes

but I suspect you mean "join a domain"....in which case its a no-go due to the OS type.
Linx Newbie
Linx Newbie

Linx Tablet: Linx 7

by david_1152 » January 22nd, 2015, 4:14 pm

Thanks for that, does beg the question - has anyone tried to change their OS type to achieve this ? Sorry, bit of background - I work in a school and was thinking of issuing these out to our 6th form, one each. BUT, I'd need them to authenticate onto the school network, to gain access to network drives and the like. Sorry to be a pain..

by westonpf » January 22nd, 2015, 4:35 pm

You can upgrade to Win 8.1 pro which will give you the ability to join a domain. You would need a license for this version of Windows. It will also take up a fair bit of space on the drive. Someone has done this for the Linx 8.

Wired networking should be possible via a USB ethernet adapter.
Linx Nerd
Linx Nerd

Retailer: Argos
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro

by Madmax » January 22nd, 2015, 5:21 pm

you can do an inplace update without using up significant space at all just by going to control panel-->system and there is a link for "get more features with a new edition of windows"..this'll wander off online to MS servers, ask for a key......(if you dont have a key then ..take your money,) and upgrade your "home" to "pro".
if you are a school you possibly get educational licensing which may be a site license, so just get yourself some 8.1 pro keys and have at it.
Linx Newbie
Linx Newbie

by westonpf » January 22nd, 2015, 6:21 pm